A Regal Affair

You are the King of Lies

Leering down from your throne

At me, the jester in the court,

The entertainment to your sick humour.

 

Ever loyal, I curtsy at the sight

Of your crooked crown,

Even as you sleep in another bed

And kneel to a different Queen.

 

Instead of medieval torture games

You choose to prick me with

A sharp tongue, one which

Sent me to slumber like the spun wheel.

 

Under this dark magic you

Whisper poisonous words to

Freeze and blacken my heart

And once regal brain.

 

I was your Queen once, and

That empty seat you see beside you

Was my regal throne when I

Had a crown as crooked as yours.

 

And one day I shall knock it off

The same way you knock me.

But until then I will watch

Your castle ruin and fall.

 

For I am loyal.

Author: paganpages

Writer of weird fiction, lover of coffee and stories with a twist.

Leave a Reply

