Obituary

“I love you more than I love
The moon and the stormy seas
And the choking fog,” he rasped to me
On the pale hill under a blood moon.

I touched his wild raven hair
With my pointed nails, as he
Knelt before me, his hand
Presenting a twisted ring of bone.

I was his Skeleton Queen,
And he was my Forever King,
And we rode on a fiery stallion,
Ruefully chasing death beneath an ashen dusk.

Under the pitch sky we feasted,
A banquet of centipede and sparrow’s eggs,
And I wore a cape of black swan feathers clasped with a beetle
While my King pinned the curled corpse of a tarantula to his tunic.

We danced among ancient tombstones
To the murmur of the dead parade.
We wove love letters in silky webs
And watched scorpions battle in a dusty wasteland.

We rested in a bed of heather near black waves,
Humming to their hiss on the pink shore
And the bats screamed from our crumbling tower.
We embraced, deathly white limbs entwined.

Lastly we howled to the haunted moon,
A celebration of our everlasting love, our funeral song:
The wedding of a Skeleton King
And his Forever Queen.

Author: paganpages

Writer of weird fiction, lover of coffee and stories with a twist.

Leave a Reply

