In Loving Memory

I haven’t slept on our bed since you left. I haven’t moved your things since you softly passed away.

Your smiling eyes are what I miss the most, even after a hard day at work you’d welcome me with love.

We did everything together – we were partners in crime. I felt like we were made for each other – soulmates forever.

It was a blow to everyone when you went away. My parents always said they thought of you as their adopted child.

My friends loved you the moment they met you – the first one they’ve ever liked! I told you they were picky.

You were a true partner – a true best friend to have. So calm-natured, you made everything alright. You made me whole but…

I can’t eat at the table because you’re not sitting opposite me munching on toast. I can’t watch my favourite programs because you’re not sat beside me. You were so tolerant of my obsession with Sex and the City.

Your favourite digestive biscuits are still in the cupboard, I can’t bear to chuck them out. My friends were upset but they’ve never lost anyone close to them. They don’t understand what it’s like to lose your best friend. I can’t move on.

I haven’t washed your jacket because it still smells of you. I cry over photographs of us together in happier times.

I’ll never forget you, you were the best Doberman Pinscher any girl’s been lucky to have. I’ll love you forever, my darling Mr. Big.

Author: paganpages

Writer of weird fiction, lover of coffee and stories with a twist.

Leave a Reply

