The Car Wreck

The man looked at me with a glimmer
In his one golden eye.
I shuddered at the feeling –
That I had seen him before.

We were both stood in the newsagents
Which I frequented now I was
Half the person I used to be –
Half a leg less.

I had had it hacked from the joint
After wrecking my car on the motorway
After a Friday night binge –
A whiskey and tequila binge.

After my husband had left me
For one of his students,
One of those boring intellectuals –
One of those mature teenagers.

And as I stood with my hand
On a bottle, a dark bottle,
The man flashed a smile –
The same smile I’d seen before –
I realised with numbing horror –
Before I’d wrecked my car –
Right into his haggard body –
As he’d stuck his thumb out for a ride.

Author: paganpages

Writer of weird fiction, lover of coffee and stories with a twist.

2 thoughts on “The Car Wreck”

Leave a Reply

