Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday

Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday.

So the Daily Prompt today is about switching bodies with somebody. I’m going to switch things up – I mean, it’s called ‘Freaky Friday’! I am going to switch bodies with a cushion…

 

Ahh I’m so comfy. I’ve been sat here for hours and it never gets tiring, because I have no muscles and no bones. It’s so satisfying that I am providing comfort for somebody. I have a real worth to me, sat here perfectly happy and I don’t feel useless! I feel very useful actually. I can see the window from here, a nice sunny day. And the sunlight is right on me, not in my eyes though, because I don’t have eyes. I can imagine my beads twinkling in the sun’s rays, but I don’t know if they are twinkling. I don’t know if I have beads. Can’t see myself.

Then the sun goes down and it gets darker and my time is getting nearer! My useful time, the reason I’m sat here waiting. I’m excited! I think, I don’t know, I don’t have a stomach to get butterflies in. I can hear somebody walking up the stairs. Ooh probably coming up to rest on me for a nice night’s sleep. They walk into the bedroom and I see her get closer to me. Aah, I wait for it. I wait. Her hand comes from nowhere and picks me up. Well this is a strange feeling. Like flying, like being a child again when your dad would pick you up and take you to bed. Although I’m being moved.. away from the bed and onto the floor. And then the whole day is crushed and I have to get comfy in a new cold spot on the carpet and the realisation dawns on me – I’m a useless cushion. A decorative cushion. Just for show. Fake.

And I have to lay on the cold floor and watch the useful cushions beneath her head get comfy and smugly look down on me. Well at least I’m unique, I think, well I think I think, I don’t have a brain. I’m sure I do have beads, and I’m sure they twinkle – unlike the useful plain cushion.

 

And the moral of this little crazy story is that everybody has a use, even if you feel useless!

P.

Author: paganpages

Writer of weird fiction, lover of coffee and stories with a twist.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Freaky Friday”

  1. Thanks for the nice website. It was very beneficial for me. Retain sharing this kind of ideas down the road as well. This became actually some tips i was looking for, and i’m glad in order to came below! Thanks for sharing the similarly info with us

Leave a Reply

